MEAC Moments - NCAA Men's Basketball 15-2 Seed Wins < All News
Sunday, December 22, 2013

Did you know in the history of the NCAA Division I Men’s Basketball Tournament only six teams seeded number 15 have defeated a No. 2 seed?  The MEAC is the only conference to hold three wins as a No. 15 seed over a no. 2 seeded team.

The MEAC is the only conference to hold three wins as a No. 15 seed over a No. 2 seeded team.

In 2012, Norfolk State Spartans defeated No. 2 seeded Missouri, 86-84, in the second round of the NCAA Tournament to become the fifth team in tournament history to achieve the feat. In 1997 No. 15 Coppin State earned the win over No. 2 South Carolina and in 2001 No. 15 Hampton defeated No. 2 Iowa State, ironically 11-years to the day prior to NSU’s victory.

In 1997, Danny Singletary and Antonie Brockington led the Coppin State Eagles to a 78-65 victory over the South Carolina Gamecocks.  Guided by legendary head coach Ron Fang Mitchell, Coppin State finished the season ranked No. 6 in the nation, knocked off a Top 25 opponent and became the first MEAC men’s basketball team to win a first round game.

Hampton University shocked the nation when the Pirates knocked off No. 2 seeded Iowa State in the 2001 NCAA Tournament.  Senior forward Tarvis Williams nailed the game winner with 6.9 seconds left in the game to advance the Pirates to the second round. Hampton became the fourth team in tournament history to be victorious in the first-round against a No. 2 seeded team.  The Pirates became the first 15th seed to return to the NCAA Tournament the very next season. 

The Norfolk State Spartans became an NCAA Division I bracket buster team in 2012 after stunning nationally ranked Missouri with an 86-84 second round victory. Senior Center Kyle O’Quinn led the charge with his 20th double-double with a game-high 26 points and 14 rebounds.  The Norfolk State win, heard, talked about and trended throughout the nation, marked the fifth time in NCAA history that a No. 15 seed earned a victory over a No. 2 seeded team.

Thanks to Our Corporate Sponsors
MEAC Institutions